District

Welcome to Upper Perkiomen School District

Academics

21st Century Education

Departments

District Wide Departments

Parents

Click on "Parent Portal" at the top of the screen to access Skyward's Family Access.

Community

Horseback riding in Green Lane Park

School Board

All Board and Workshop meetings are held at the Education Center - 2229 East Buck Road, Pennsburg.

Hero Image

Student Assistance Program

The Upper Perkiomen School District is committed to assisting all pupils in reaching their full potential. Implementation of proven instructional practices are obviously a main focus. However, students who are struggling with other issues outside the purview of the classroom environment are a concern as well. To this end, the School District established a Student Assistance Program in 1988. Initially at the High School only, student assistance teams are now established in all four schools within the district.

Purpose
The Assistance Core Team (ACT) is a combined staff of teachers, guidance counselors, administrators, psychologist and personnel from drug/alcohol, mental health and juvenile probation agencies.

ACT attempts to:

  • Identify at-risk students having problems due to academics, behavior, health issues, drug and/or alcohol use, mental health issues and attendance problems.
  • Intervene and refer those students to appropriate in-school or community services.
  • Serve as a crisis team in emergency situations.

Student assistance programs are NOT treatment programs, rather they identify and refer at-risk students. They also help students "get back on track" educationally through various support programs.

REFERRAL PROCEDURES
Students can be referred by school staff, parents, peers or self-referral. Once a referral is made, data (limited to observable behaviors) is gathered with parent permission and shared with the parents and team. Data may also be shared with the student and parents. Parent-child cooperation is considered the first step in addressing the problem. Students who sincerely seek help to avoid chemical abuse through ACT are not subjected to disciplinary action. All data collected is considered confidential.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION:
Contact your child’s guidance counselor-

High SchoolAngela Traub (A-G); 215-541-7120atraub@upsd.org
John Gunning Jr. (H-N); 215-541-7121jgunning@upsd.org
Leanne Legendre (O-Z); 215-541-7122llegendre@upsd.org
Middle SchoolTracey James (A-K); 215-541-7412tjames@upsd.org
Theresa Gerhold (L-Z); 215-541-7480tgerhold@upsd.org
MarlboroughKaren Shetler; 215-541-7219kshetler@upsd.org
HerefordJeffrey Bibus; 215-541-3426jbibus@upsd.org

Powered by Finalsite